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become a google ads specialist


What is Google Ads (Google Adwords)

Google Ads is an advertising platform by Google for advertisers to place their paid ads on Google search result page, Youtube, and on websites/blogs owned by others. For this, ad publishers bid on certain keywords and winner publishers get their ads to display by Google. This bidding completion is called Google Ads Auction System. Advertisers have to pay to google when their ad is clicked by the user.

After reading this article, you will learn the following skills and can monetize these skills.

Before actually starting this article, you should know a few acronyms and terms about google ads so that you can understand this money-making trustworthy platform in depth.

Click

A website visitor clicks on the ad being displayed.

Impression

Showing an ad to a visitor when visiting a website.

Cost-per-Click (CPC)

It is Google Ad price. Advertisers have to pay Google when users click on ads. Advertisers set max CPC when starting a new ad campaign. Max CPC is the highest amount the advertiser is willing to pay to google on ad click. However actual CPC may be less than the max CPC. It is the amount at which the advertiser wins the bid.

CPC is also called Pay-per-Click (PPC)

Google Ads are measurable. It means that you can view ad impressions, click, and can generate reports. Unlike Facebook, Google will charge only when users click on your ad if you have selected PPC when creating an ad campaign. However, if you have selected PPV, then google ad will also charge on an ad view.

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Click-through-Rate (CTR)

CTR is the percentage of the number of ad clicks divided by the number of ads shown to the user. If an ad is shown 500 times to the users and users click it only 50 times then CTR is:-

CTR = 50 / 500 * 100 = 1%

While searching keywords in google keyword planner, you can see the lowest and highest bid price for all keywords. This is the PPC price range so you can decide whether it falls in your budget or not. Or if you have selected lower PPC than range, then least chance for your ad to win bid/auction.

Pay-per-View (PPV)

It is the amount google charge from ad publishers against 1000 impressions. An advertiser can uncheck it if he does not want to pay against impressions.

Cost-per-Acquisition (CPA)

CPA is the amount an advertiser spend to convert one user to buy his product/service. It determines the conversion rate. 2% conversion rate is sufficient. However, 4% is best.

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS)

It is the revenue generated from google ads, minus the cost of the advertisement.

Ad Rank

It is the position of your ad being shown in google search results. The highest ad rank gets the top position. Ad rank is determined by the ad quality score.

Quality Score

It determines how relevant and useful your ad is to the user. Keywords having high-quality score save your money as well as better ad position.

Frequently asked questions about Google Ads

How to advertise with google ads?

First, open google ads account. For this, you should have a Gmail account. Then follow few steps to start an ad campaign.

What is the google auction system?

The auction system runs billions of times each month. It runs on each search query made in google. At the same time, the ad position and CPC of each advertiser is determined.

How does the google ads bidding system work?

There are millions of advertisers who want to show their ads to visitors. How Google determines which ad is to show and where to show. The position of your ad depends upon the Ad Rank. The highest ad rank means the first position. Ad rank is determined by the Ad Quality Score. Ad Quality Score is that how useful and relevant your ad is to a user.

Actual CPC is the division of ad rank of the next highest rank below you and your quality score. Ads having higher quality score usually have higher ad rank and lower CPC.

Google Ads Certification

Google Ads offers certification to those professionals who are proficient in basic and advanced concepts of google ads. Google ads specialists can get the following six types of certifications.
  • Google Ads Display
  • Google Ads Measurement
  • Google Ads Search
  • Shopping Ads
  • Google Ads Video
  • Google Ads Apps
Google ads certified is recognized by google as an expert in online marketing. You can get any certification through SkillShop. Visit it to know the budget and duration of each certification. 
Create your account in SkillShop to get study material which is helpful to pass the Product Area Assessment.

Certification is available in the following 22 languages:-
  • Thai
  • English (UK)
  • English (US)
  • Japanese
  • Czech
  • Simplified Chinese
  • Traditional Chinese
  • Polish
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
  • German
  • Vietnamese
  • French
  • Dutch
  • Korean
  • Indonesian
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Spanish (Latin America)
  • German
  • Indonesian

Assessment Passing Score

Assessment time is 75 minutes and you have to pass it with at least 80% marks. An unstoppable timer will start at the beginning of the assessment. If any issue arises in between the assessment (browser issue, light issue, etc), you can take the assessment again after 1 day.

Validity

Certification validity is 1 year and you have to retake the assessment to renew it.

Benefits

  • Google recognizes you as a Certified Online Advertising Professional
  • You can work with your client/company and help to achieve google partner or premier google partner badge
  • You can make money online
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Types of Advertisement

If a client asks you to do an advertisement for him, you first have to ask which type of advertisement he wants. The three most common ads are below:-

1. Search Ads

This ad appears in the paid results on SERP in the form of text and a link at the top based on the user search query. This ad is mostly preferred due to the following reasons:-

Huge Reach: 
When your ad appears at the top of google search results, it increases your reach.

Interested user: 
It shows to the only interested user who is searching the same keywords you have provided in google ad campaign.

When you have to use a search ad?
  • If your client is not telling you that which type of ad he wants to use
  • When your client wants to increase lead generation by taking higher traffic on his website to boost sales. Search ads increase website visits.

2. Display Ads

This ad is displayed on the websites/blogs owned by others approved by Google AdSense.

When to use?

Brand Awareness: 
When people don’t know about your brand and you want to increase your brand awareness

Visibility: 
You want your brand to be visible to the user in the form of images or video

3. Video Ads

It is displayed on YouTube based on targeted keywords. You may select PPC or PPV. In the case of PPV, google also charges when a user views your ad.

When to use?
  • When you want your ads to viral, to increase conversion and awareness.
  • It is engaging as when a user is being engaged with video, his interest-oriented ad will be shown.
Google introduced True View for video ads on YouTube. True View gives different names to video ads as

Display Ads:

Video Ads appearing in suggested videos on the right side of the video you are watching. There is the word “Ad” below this Video Ad.

Search Ads:

When users do a search, there may be some video ads appearing in the searched list.

In-Stream Ads:

Overlay ads, skippable and non-skippable, bumper ads display over running video.
Digital Advertisement without google is incomplete.

How to create ads?

Create ads in Photoshop and export in jpeg or png. Before publishing, you first review the ad from your client and get approval. Talk about the size, color, and ad style with the client. Tell the client which ad sizes get more responses from users according to your experience. Also, tell him about the best colors and styles.

Placement and budget:
Tell your client about ad placement, budget, and ad competition in the industry.

Time Management:
Target special events for advertisement. Create an ad before 1 month of the event and get reviewed by the client.

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How to perform google advertisement?

Find Targeted Keywords

The first step is to search keywords according to your selected locations/countries, language, search network, and time period. To search targeted keywords, visit my article about Google Keyword Planner.

Google displays your ad to those users who search with these keywords in google.

Auction

Google cannot show ads of all publishers to users against a keyword because there are millions of publishers with the same targeted keyword. Google does an auction and shows ads of publishers paying higher.

Suppose you set your budget as $1 PPC against the keyword “Digital Marketing”. It means that when any user will search this keyword in your targeted location, your ad should be displayed.

But actually, it is not! Why?

There are millions of ad publishers who have targeted this same keyword to display ads. How google ads decide that whose ad is to show? Obviously, it will show ads of publishers whose PPC is higher.

Create Ad campaign on Google Ads

If you have not given billing information already then you have to provide payment & billing information before creating Ad Campaign. While giving billing details, keep in mind the following points
  • Select billing country same as the country of your credit card
  • Select individual for a freelancer
  • Select manual payment if you are a newbie as it is more secure in terms of budget. You have full control of the budget.

Create Search Ad Campaign in Google Ads

  • Create a new Ad Campaign by clicking on Campaign, New Campaign
  • Select goal to make your campaign successful
  • Select campaign type and hit CONTINUE. Campaign type determines the position of your ads customers see. Ad position is highlighted in yellow color.

Go to campaign settings and follow the below steps:-
  • Give campaign name
  • Select both search network and display network
  • Select locations, language, and audience
  • Set a budget you are willing to spend daily
  • Type CPC (You can calculate average CPC from google keyword planner for each keyword)
  • Setup Ad Group. One Ad group contains two or more Ads sharing similar targets.

Setting a budget and bidding strategy


Automatic vs Manual Bidding

If you cannot optimize everything, then select automatic bidding as google will choose the best-optimized things for you automatically. In the case of manual bidding, you may select things not optimized. Manual bidding is better for professionals.

Always keep eye on Earning per Click. If PPC is more than EPC then you are losing money. Remove Underperforming keywords.

Audience targeting

Select a target audience as if your target audience is Washington, then create an ad accordingly. You can select locations or radius.

Critical Insights
By targeting, you will receive huge data of people of a specific location. Now you can create your next campaign based on this data.

Picking the right keywords for indexing
Use Get Keyword Ideas to generate the best keywords in two ways, by giving a website URL or by giving a product/service.

Quality Scores and most common mistakes with Ads

What are three mistakes due to which quality score is reduced? On which page google has to show an ad, depends on the ad quality score. Quality Score depends on
  • Keyword and Ad relevancy
  • Landing page relevancy and quality
  • Past performance of ads
  • CTR

Three main mistakes

  • Bad keyword match with users search
  • Poorly written ads
  • Not using negative keywords: These are keyword you want to exclude

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